One final holiday cookie…

I enjoy my time in the kitchen. I particularly enjoy playing with new recipes and discovering yummy new things to add to my repertoire. However, I’m also a big fan of my old favorites. The things that I’ve been making for years. The recipes that are well worn and highly trusted and are always a success. And, at this time of year, the recipes that remind me of loved ones. No matter how many Christmas cookies I can churn out of my kitchen during a holiday season, it’s not truly Christmas until the Peanut Butter Blossoms are done. You may be wondering what magic there is to these cookies. Sure, 75% of the population is already very well acquainted with this kicked-up peanut butter cookie. It’s not complicated or involved, and it doesn’t require any fancy ingredients. It’s not particularly glamorous.

IMG_4322

What’s magical about this cookie is that it’s the one that my wonderful husband requests every year. Though he’ll tell you that most of the things that come out of my kitchen are pretty darn good, and he’s my biggest fan when I’m experimenting with recipes and making him sample everything, it’s this cookie that he really looks forward to every year. And because this old classic is his favorite, this is one of those cookie recipes that will always be on my holibaking list. Because it makes me think of him, and because it makes him happy. Who needs better reasons than those?

IMG_4324

So, if you haven’t made any cookies for Santa yet, pull out your mixing bowl and preheat the oven. There’s nothing better with a glass of nice, cold milk than a little peanut butter and chocolate.

Recipe behind the jump…

IMG_4326

Peanut Butter Blossoms
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup smooth peanut butter (I don’t recommend natural PB for this)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
48 Hershey kisses, unwrapped
sugar for rolling (approx. 1/3 cup)

Preheat oven to 375 F. Beat butter and sugars in a large bowl until light and fluffy. Add egg, milk, and vanilla and blend until combined. Combine the dry ingredients and gradually add them to the wet ingredients until fully incorporated.

Shape the dough into 1″ balls. Roll in sugar and place approximately 2″ apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 9-11 minutes, until cookies are lightly browned. Remove from oven and immediately press one kiss into the middle of each cookie (edges will crack). Cool 2-3 minutes on the cookie sheet and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. (Kisses will remain soft and gooey for some time. Be sure they’re fully set before packing them up or stacking them.)

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “One final holiday cookie…

  1. Kim says:

    These cookies are the official Santa cookies in my house. My 9-year-0ld insists they are the first to be baked. I love having traditions.

    ***
    I’m particularly thankful for traditions right now… they keep me grounded when life is crazy. :)

  2. TheDelicious says:

    omg. i LOVE the third picture! love the cookies, too, of course, but that photo is stunning!

    ***
    Thank you! (The 3rd pic is my favorite, too!)

  3. Randi says:

    I made these last week too, and boy are they good. So basic and yet perfect. This year thought I used the new peanut butter centered hershey kisses to give it even more peanut butter flavor. happy holidays!

    ***
    Ohhhh… Hershey kisses with PB? I haven’t seen those yet!

  4. Licealista says:

    Merry Christmas from Poland!
    Wesołych Świąt!

    ***
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

