caffeinated

I love coffee. And I love cupcakes. How exciting is it, then, that this month’s Cupcake Hero challenge features coffee as the star ingredient? Pretty exciting, I say!

There were so many possibilities with this one, but coffee and chocolate is always a winner in my book. That’s how Mocha Cupcakes with Kahlua frosting were born. If you’re a coffee junkie like me, you’ll love these rich coffee cupcakes laced with chocolate – and what’s better than coffee with a little Kahlua? Oh my.

Mocha Cupcakes with Kahlua Frosting

These are the perfect dessert cupcakes. You get your cake and your coffee all in one happy little package. And, really, it’s the rare person who doesn’t love their own little personal cake!

Mocha Cupcakes with Kahlua Frosting

Mocha Cupcakes
2 cups granulated sugar
2/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
2 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
5 rounded tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water
3.5 tablespoons espresso powder
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat over to 350 degrees F. Insert liners into a cupcake pan.

On medium speed, cream together the sugar, butter, and eggs until fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and mix in the sour cream.

In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking soda, cocoa, and salt.

In a measuring cup combine the water, coffee and vanilla.

Alternate adding the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar/sour cream mixture with the coffee mixture. Mix thoroughly.

Fill the cupcake liners three-quarters full. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of cupcakes comes out clean. Remove cupcakes to wire rack and cool before frosting. (makes 24 cupcakes)

Kahlua Frosting
4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
2.5 tablespoons Kahlua
16 ounces powdered sugar

Cream together cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Mix in Kahlua, then powdered sugar in one cup increments until frosting reaches desired consistency. Apply to cupcakes. (frosts 24 cupcakes generously)

Tagged , , , ,

23 thoughts on “caffeinated

  1. CB says:

    oh wow. these look amazing! Would you mind if I asked you what # piping tip you used to make such perfect swirls? I see I have lots of tough competition this month. ;) Great job!
    -Clara
    http://iheartcuppycakes.wordpress.com

    ***
    Clara – I used a Wilton 1M tip for these… it’s my favorite tip! Your cupcakes look wonderful, too! :)

  2. Peter says:

    Look at you! Doing food magazine kinda’ photos, looks super!

    Bet ya you ate a few (I would).

    ***
    Trying to kick the photos up a notch. ;)
    (I ate two for lunch. Not WITH lunch… FOR lunch. Yeah, they’re good!)

  3. slush says:

    Oh my. They look amazing! I agree , fab photos too. And your right, who doesnt like kahlua??? Thanks so much for continuing to be a part of the Hero Crew!!!

    ***
    Thanks, Laurie! :)

  4. slush says:

    Had to add, I often do the cupcakes for breakfast or lunch and sometimes for both. I hate to see the tasty buggers go to waste!

    ***
    Waste cupcakes? No way!! ;)

  5. Mansi says:

    Oh Boy! this thing seems to have everything that i want JUST NOW!! perfect photos, and perfect flavor..brilliant! I’m trying this soon…:D

    ***
    It’s a great combination, Mansi! I hope you enjoy it!

  6. slush says:

    Quick question, how many does this recipe make?

    ***
    Oops! I knew I was forgetting something! I got 24 cupcakes.

  7. These sound delicious. The picture with the cupcake in a mug is great! I am considering getting a piping kit…we shall see if I find one here!

    ***
    Thank you, Gretchen! Let me know if you need a U.S. assist!

  8. JEP says:

    The ingredients sound soo good & your photos are amazing!

    ***
    Thank you!

  9. Erin says:

    I love how you’ve placed the cupcake in the coffee mug! The pictures make these almost too good to eat.
    Almost…

    ***
    Almost… but… nahhhh!! ;)

  10. Emiline says:

    Beautiful pictures! I adore coffee…and cake, so these are PERFECT.
    Oh, I forgot the Kahlua. I bet that’s delicious in a frosting.

    ***
    Thanks, Emiline! The frosting is really very tasty.

  11. dominique says:

    wow.

    you are a credit to the human race.

    ***
    Heh. Thank you. ;)

  12. Could they be any more pretty? Or, I suspect, any more delicious (just a hunch, here)? Beautiful.

  13. Lydia says:

    Beautiful, beautiful cupcakes! I am a total pushover for anything mocha, and I love the photo in the tea cup — very clever.

  14. Deb says:

    Those are simply marvelous! Look at those photos! Magazine quality!
    This is one recipe I need, we love Kahlua and coffee!

  15. Dr. Benabio says:

    When I was a kid coffee ice cream with chocolate sprinkles was my favorite. Now, I think I’ll have to try these cupcakes to feel like a kid again. They are perfect!

  16. Pam says:

    Oh my! Gorgeous pictures and a yummy sounding recipe!

  17. Jaos says:

    The pictures do look great. And you can never go wrong with kahlua.

  18. Stefani says:

    I love that photo and the cupcake sounds awesome!

  19. Butta Buns says:

    Your pictures are fantastic, I can practically taste the mocha from here!

  20. Yeah! Kahlua. I personally try to never miss a chance to add alcohol to a cupcake. Now it has everything that is right with the world. Coffee, liqueur, and frosting. ;-) I adore your pics as has already been mentioned several times. The cupcakes look absolutely scrumptious. Congrats on a great Hero entry!

  21. Mary says:

    Your pictures are really beautiful and the cupcake looks divine! I love that you added kahlua to your hero entry too! (I personally like some Irish whiskey in my coffee, but I couldn’t figure out how to do it nicely.)

  22. PrissyCook says:

    Cupcakes and booze! You’re my cupcake hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Kristy says:

    I made these today just because of your yummy photos. They turned out sooooo god and my house smells amazing right now. Oh and btw- I got 30 cupcakes from this recipe. Maybe my cupcake pan is smaller than yours? I dunno but who can complain about 6 more cupcakes. haha. Thanks for the recipe- I’ll be making this many times!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

