sweet potato praline bread

I adore quick breads… always have. So much less fussy than the yeast breads I’ve always shyed away from (I hope to conquer a little of that fear this year), they come in such a wide array of wonderful flavors that I’ve always got one or two in my “must try” folder.

I have fond memories of many Christmases past featuring my mom’s amazing zucchini bread. Those who’ve been with me from the beginning will remember that I’ve already talked here about my quest for the perfect banana bread. And, come strawberry season, I’ll be sharing with you a lovely strawberries and cream quick bread recipe. Quick breads are where it’s at!

When I saw that this month’s Homegrown Gourmet, hosted by the lovely Gretchen Noelle over at Canela & Comino, was featuring the ever-popular quick bread, I knew I wanted to play along.

Alright… so what’s classically North Carolina? My first thought was pecans. My second thought was sweet potatoes. My third thought was of a sweet potato praline bread recipe that I’ve had rolling around in my recipe box forever. Bingo!

sweet potato praline bread

I’m so glad this challenge prompted me to try this recipe. It’s wonderful. The sweet potatoes and ginger mellow nicely with the familiar flavors of the bananas and cinnamon. And the praline topping adds a crunchy, sweet kick that makes this bread perfect for dessert (or, I admit it, breakfast). We’ll definitely be making this one again!

sweet potato praline bread

Ode to Carolina Sweet Potato Praline Bread
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
3 ripe bananas
2 medium sweet potatoes, cooked and mashed
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
3 1/2 cups white flour
2/3 cup buttermilk
2 cups sugar
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup pecans, very finely chopped

Blend oil, eggs, banana and potatoes in a large bowl on high for 2 minutes. Add salt, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and white flour. Blend well. Add milk and sugar, blend. Add the whole wheat flour and pecans. Pour into 2 loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees F for 50-60 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (Makes 2 large loaves.)

Praline Topping:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup roasted pecans, chopped
2 cups powered sugar
1/4 c. water

Cook butter and brown sugar over medium heat for 4-5 minutes until carmelized. Add pecans and remove to a bowl and cool slightly. Measure powedered sugar into a measuring cup and stir in water. Whisk until smooth. Using a fork, mix glaze into pecans, breaking up praline pieces while stirring. Spoon over loaves and allow to cool.

Tagged , ,

23 thoughts on “sweet potato praline bread

  1. a. grace says:

    southern pride!! :)

    i love me some sweet taters and this is one heck of a good way to put them to use!

    ***

    It was really great!

  2. Peter says:

    Praline, pecans, potato…it’s Pe-licious!

    ***

    P-licious! I love it, Peter! :)

  3. How yummy! Bananas, sweet potatoes and pecans? It doesn’t get much better than that! I would love to try a slice with my cup of coffee!

    Thanks so much for participating!!

    ***

    I wish I could share – we’ve got plenty! Great event!

  4. Ben says:

    Pecans, sweet potatoes and bananas in a bread! Yummy, I love this one already.

    ***

    It’s definitely a winner!

  5. Lydia says:

    How did you cook the sweet potatoes? My first instinct would be to microwave them. This bread (cake!) looks delicious.

    ***

    Yep… just a little zap in the microwave, cut them in half, and scraped out the “meat” with a spoon. Easy peasy! :)

  6. Deborah says:

    Oh, wow! This looks fabulous! I love quick breads as well, and I can’t wait for the strawberries and cream bread!

    ***

    Ohhh.. I can’t wait for strawberry season! :)

  7. Kevin says:

    Sweet potato and praline bread sounds absolutely amazing! Bookmarked I am also looking forward to the strawberries and cream bread.

    ***
    It’s a really tasty bread. Strawberry season will be here before you know it! :)

  8. Meg says:

    I’m drooling…seriously.

    ***
    It was totally drool-worthy!

  9. It looks so good, Michelle… It’s like a dessert bread!

    ***
    Exactly, Patricia! Dessert bread!

  10. Cakespy says:

    Dear Banana Bread,

    It’s over, I have found someone new with whom I believe I can find true happiness: Sweet Potato Praline Bread.

    Don’t hate me.

    Respectfully,

    Cakespy

    ***
    Banana bread wants you to know that it misses you, but hopes you find happiness. ;)

  11. You may have single-handedly included every one of my favorite foods in this bread (except for artichokes, but that would be gross). This bread is sensational. I am addicted to sweet potatoes, so I’ll have to make this before the season ends.

    ***
    You’re right, Susan – artichokes would be gross! But, I’ve got a recipe coming soon for your artichoke fix!

  12. katie says:

    I, also, love sweet breads: cranberry, pumpkin, zucchini and walnut or my current favorites… but strawberry, lemon, orange cream, Damn, I’m gettng hungry….
    We have them as a snack with tea… (sounds so civilized, doesn’t it; hehehe)

    ***
    Ooooh…. orange cream? Yes, please!

  13. Lynn says:

    This looks great! I can’t wait to try. I just have one question, would I totally ruin the flavor and texture if I use only whole wheat flour instead of part white flour and some whole wheat?

    ***

    Lynn,
    I’m just venturing into using wheat flour in my recipes, so I can’t say that I’ve used 100% wheat successfully. HOWEVER, quick breads tend to be so resilient… I’d give it a go and perhaps just increase the baking soda to three teaspoons since wheat flour doesn’t rise quite as easily. Good luck! :)

  14. Ann says:

    Congratulations on winning the event! Great-looking recipe!

    ***
    Thank you, Ann!

  15. Erika says:

    Great entry- looks to die for! I ate my quick bread for breakfast and would *definately* eat yours too. Can’t wait to see what you pick for the next round- congrats and enjoy hosting!

    ***
    Thanks, Erika! (And thanks for founding the Homegrown Gourmet!) Homegrown 6 post goes up tomorrow! :)

  16. Holy smokes this looks amazing~ I’m thinking a perfect bread for a Thanksgiving spread!
    I’m a sucker for sweet potatoes and pecans so you had me with the name but just reading all the ingredients is driving me crazy. This is some seriously good looking cake, ehrr bread. ;-)
    Congrats by the way on winning the challenge!

    ***
    It would be perfect for Thanksgiving!

  17. bevsedgehills says:

    this sounds amazing!!! cut me a slice please! x welldone for winning!

    ***
    Want a cup of coffee with that? ;)

  18. Karen says:

    I think your addition of ginger was genius! This bread sounds wonderful. Congratulations!

    ***
    Thanks, Karen!

  19. Ivy says:

    Congratulations on winning the event. Although I don’t know the taste of sweet potatoes it looks so good and your photos too and great.

    ***
    The sweet potatoes just add a little extra “something” to the banana flavor. Very yummy! And… thank you! :)

  20. Tartelette says:

    Ingredients relative to South Carolina too! I’ll have to try it soon!

  21. Ashley says:

    Wow this sounds and looks like quite the bread! Definitely saving this one.

  22. Allison says:

    eeeps! I have a couple sweet potatoes in my fridge right now that I’ve been wondering what to do with. Problem solved! This looks AWESOME!

  23. Judith says:

    Wow, that’s an interesting recipe. I’m a native North Carolinian, and in my 18 years there I never encountered anything like this, but I like the incorporation of various yummy local ingredients. Next week, I have to try to make Southern food for an Iowan who’s never had it before – and it has to be meatless! I have no idea what I’m going to make…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

