Homegrown Gourmet #6: BREAKFAST, baby!

homegrown.gif

Remember that Ode to Carolina Sweet Potato Praline Bread I made not so long ago? Well, as luck would have it, that recipe bagged a win in Round Five of the Homegrown Gourmet event – Quick Breads, hosted by the lovely Gretchen Noelle. What a great surprise and such an honor! And, with that win, the torch has been passed to me to host HomeGrown Gourmet #6.

Now, since Bean’s Bistro started the ball rolling with sandwiches, the Homegrown Gourmet event has featured soups, pies/tarts, stews, and quick breads. Those are some hard acts to follow, and I wanted to be sure I picked a real winner of a category for my very first time hosting an event.

I’ve been obsessing a lot lately about breakfast items… I don’t just want breakfast for breakfast, I want breakfast for lunch and dinner, too! So, why not feed the obsession and challenge you, dear readers, to pull out all the stops and tell the world about your best Homegrown breakfast recipes.

THE RULES:

  • Anyone can play!
  • A theme will be picked by the host. Participants will make a dish that follows the theme and that somehow represents their home region – town, state, area. Representation can feature a local ingredient, be a traditional dish from your area, or be a creative twist.
  • Participants will have 3-4 weeks (host discretion) to complete their recipes and post them to their blog (or email the pics and text), and notify the host. The host will then post the results and then let everyone know via email or message board the results are up!
  • An explanation of your dish is required; it can be a story about the local custom or ingredient, how you came about eating/making the recipe, or an explanation about how your creative dish fits the theme.
  • Fresh and local foods are encouraged!
  • When the round is done, the host will announce their favorite dish by updating their blog. Favorite is completely subjective to the host- no one expects the host to make and taste test all the dishes, it is just something that strikes the host’s fancy! The creator of the fave gets the honor of hosting the next round, if they so choose!

Okay? Okay! Let’s play!

To participate in Homegrown Gourmet #6, get in your kitchens and cook up a great breakfast dish! Post about it in your blog and tell the world what makes your recipe Homegrown… be sure to link back to this post. Then send me an email at culinographyATgmailDOTcom with “Homegrown Gourmet 6″in the subject line. Please include the following in your e-mail: your name, your location, your blog name and URL, and a permalink to your entry. Don’t forget to attach a picture (preferably 250 x 250) of your dish to the email. (Not a blogger and still want to enter? Totally okay! Shoot all the other details to me in an e-mail and I’ll post for you.)

Deadline for the event is WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13, 2008.

I can’t wait to see what everyone brings to the table!

Tagged

12 thoughts on “Homegrown Gourmet #6: BREAKFAST, baby!

  1. Breakfast…wow…yum! Truly, I don’t even know where to begin!! Pancakes? Porridge? Omelets? Boy, this is difficult! Great theme, can’t wait!

    ***
    Mmmm… I’m getting hungry already! Can’t wait to see what you decide on, Gretchen!

  2. Erika says:

    I’m with Gretchen- so many potential options, what to choose! Excellent theme!!!

    ***
    Thanks, Erika! Can’t wait to see what you settle on!

  3. Ben says:

    Call it karma but I just posted my favorite Mexican breakfast on my blog. Can I participate with that entry? I know it is not a typical Ohioan dish (where I live now) but it is a 100% authentic Mexican breakfast (where I grew up) This event sounds like a lot of fun!

    ***
    Perfectly ok, Ben! If you’ll just edit it to link back to this entry and shoot me the required info, you’ll be my first entry!

  4. Meghan says:

    Oooo love me some breakfast! I have missed the last few but Ill make sure and figure out something good for this one :)

    ***
    Judging from the looks of your blog, it’s going to be something good, Meghan! :)

  5. Tartelette says:

    Great theme! I need to re-read the instructions to make sure my brioche fits in that category. Not from South Carolina where I am now but France where I am from. Otherwise I have another excuse (twist my arm) to make something else!

    ***
    Either way, I can’t wait! :)

  6. Erika says:

    Michelle, you may want to consider submitting the event to IsMyBlogBurning.com if you want higher participation. Another participants a few rounds ago did that and really got it off the ground. (I tried to submit it and it didn’t work, but maybe you’d have more luck than I!)

    ***
    Hi Erika… I’ve tried (and tried) to submit to IMBB – but I get nothing but errors. :(

  7. Suzana says:

    Congrats Michelle! And excellent choice! Breakfast is my middle name – can’t wait to think of something local to submit. :)

    ***
    Thanks, Suzana! I can’t wait to see what you settle on!

  8. Dana says:

    Great idea! I *love* breakfast — it is by far my favorite meal.

    ***
    Do I hear an entry coming on???

  9. Kittie says:

    Great theme – and great event – it’s the first I’ve heard of it!
    I haven’t blogged breakfast before – usually too bleary-eyed to hold a camera – but this sounds fun!

    ***
    I hope you join in, Kittie!

  10. katie says:

    I hate breakfast in the morning – much too early!
    But I love it at night – especially little egg dishes for starters! Oh wait…I think I have one for you… I can play! Yaaaaayyyyyy!

  11. Shandy says:

    Hi, I have entered this fantastic breakfast challenge because just HOW could anyone resist? =D

  12. ruthEbabes says:

    Posting my entry tonight! I’m a bit rushed for time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

