updates, memes, and cauliflower

Wow. It’s been an insanely busy week! Every time I tried to get by here to update, some more urgent (but much less entertaining) need would rear its ugly head. I’ve got some catching up to do!

Since my last entry was to announce Homegrown Gourmet #6 (Breakfast!) and photos/recipes were decidedly absent, I figure I owe you all a little more than just a general housekeeping post. So, hang tight until the end and I’ll share with you a fabulous, and fabulously easy, roasted cauliflower recipe.

First, though… an update!

Remember the Chop! Chop! Chicken Pockets that I made for Ben’s Food for Plastic challenge? I won! And I won Tupperware! It arrived not too long ago and I spent the next several days agonizing over what I’d put in my pretty new airtight containers.

IMG_4852
I’ve got some bread flour living in the big cannister, powdered sugar in the next, quinoa in the third, and steel cut oats in the little guy. (Please disregard the seriously overripe bananas in the background, but keep an eye out for the yummy dish they turned into!)

Thanks, Ben, for a great prize! And, for all of you jealous of my new Tupperware, pull out your best recipe and enter Ben’s second Food for Plastic Challenge – A Taste of Spring!

On to the memes!

I’ve watched the memes making their rounds among my favorite food blogs. I’ve hoped that someone would tag me. And then… it happened! Dana over at Proof of the Pudding tagged me to tell readers 5 random things about myself… so, here goes nothin’!

  1. I’m a print geek by profession. I’ve worked in various print-related capacities over the years in corporate, government, and commercial environments.
  2. I’m left-handed, but I do lots of things (like using a mouse and using scissors) just like right-handed people.
  3. I hate humid environments. Funny, then, that I live in NC.
  4. My husband I don’t have any kids… but we do have a dog, Payne, and a cat, Hatch.
  5. Three places on the planet that I love: the beaches of the Gulf Coast (particularly Fort Walton Beach and Destin, FL) in the spring; Nashville, TN; and Sedona, AZ.

Now… the five bloggers that I’m tagging:
Aran at Cannelle et Vanille
Polliwoggy at Memoirs of a Polliwogg
Deb at Deb’s Key West Wine and Gardening
Sunny and/or Sid at Big Boys Oven
Anna at Cookie Madness

And now… the cauliflower!

IMG_4739

I love, love, love cauliflower and I love this recipe because it makes my life really easy! A little chopping, a little seasoning, into the oven and… viola! Yummy side dish happiness. (I’ve also been known to eat it as a meal when my husband’s out of town – but that’s a whole other story.)

Roasted Cauliflower
1 head cauliflower, trimmed into florets
2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil for easy clean-up.

Place florets in a single layer on the cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat evenly. Sprinkle with garlic, salt, and pepper.

Roast 20-25 minutes until tender, crispy and golden, turning once. Devour.

Tagged

14 thoughts on “updates, memes, and cauliflower

  1. Ben says:

    You have been as busy as a bee lately :D Isn’t Tupperware great? My mom was addicted to it and I am too now. That’s why I sell it even when my friends call me Tupperware lady. Hehehe.

    And I can’t wait to see what you made with those bananas :-p

    ***
    I’ve got an old hand me down Tupperware sugar dispenser. It’s got to be nearly as old as I am and I LOVE it! Reminds me of my parents.

  2. Aran says:

    Hi Michelle! Thanks for visiting my blog! You tagged me but if you excuse my ignorance… what does that mean? what am i supposed to do? i’m new at this blogging thing.

    ***
    You did wonderfully with the meme, Aran!

  3. Peter says:

    Ummm, lovely, crispy cauliflower…tastes great.

    ***
    It absolutely does!

  4. Polliwoggy says:

    Wow, I’ve been tagged! That’s so cool! I can’t imagine where to start with the random things I could say. Hmmm…I’ll get that going later today. Thank you! :)

    AND, I will be making this yummy cauliflower tonight that you shared, as I have a head of cauliflower in my fridge that’s dangerously close to the edge of salvagability (is that a word?). Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    ***
    Loved your five random facts! Hope you enjoyed the cauliflower!

  5. Anna says:

    Thanks for the tag. I’ll do my meme today :).

    By the way, I love Tupperware. Lots of people in my neighborhood or really into Pampered Chef. I like that too, but I always thought if I got into a home-party business it would be Tupperware

    ***
    Mmmm… I have a thing for Pampered Chef, too. I think I’d have a hard time deciding which to do!

  6. Congrats on your tupperware. I am proud that quinoa made it into one of them – that is so Peruvian of you!

    ***
    We put quinoa into meatloaf tonight!

  7. Deb says:

    I have been thinking about cauliflower lately and this looks like it will make my taste buds sing! Thanks for thinking of me Michelle on the MEME. I will get to it this week!
    Nice Tupperware, long time since I bought any.

    ***
    I usually save my Tupperware wish list for birthdays and holidays… it’s not easy on my budget, but it’s fun to get as presents (or prizes)!

  8. Nice canisters — they look handsome and practical!

    ***
    They are nice, aren’t they?

  9. Pam says:

    I love roasted cauliflower and how it gets crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. Try it with Montreal seasoning for a little more kick.

  10. thank you for tagging me! will complete it soon!

  11. gal writer says:

    made your cauliflower tonight to accompany french onion soup (my first attempt at both recipes)…seasoned the cauliflower with cajun seasoning instead of salt and pepper and it was awesome! it complimented the soup well, but I think we’ll be making the cauliflower before we do the soup again!

  12. Kristen says:

    Congrats on the win :) I have those canisters and LOVE them!

  13. Cindy says:

    You know what,
    I’ll make those this weeknd!

  14. Sherry says:

    omg, best cauliflower ever. I just ate so much of it because of this recipe that I feel like I am going to explode.
    So good. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

