Pop! (Cheesecake Pop Madness)

The end of another month has arrived and, if you’re a regular reader of food blogs, you’ve probably already noticed the flood of cheesecake pops at every turn. You know what that means… it’s Daring Baker time again!

IMG_5188

This month’s Daring Baker Challenge – Cheesecake Pops – was chosen by our lovely co-hosts, Elle at Feeding My Enthusiasms and Deborah at Taste and Tell. These are girls after my own heart… I was drooling with anticipation!

For as excited as I was about this challenge (and I was VERY excited, since I’ve been meaning to make cheesecake pops for a while now)… I certainly did my fair share of procrastinating. The five (yes, five!) blocks of cream cheese sat in our fridge for weeks. And then, last weekend, I finally took the plunge. I made the cheesecake… and then… I ran out of time again and it sat in the fridge for another week.

Now, this presented a bit of a problem. Cheesecake in our fridge just cannot go untouched for a full week. Not possible. Nope… so spoonfulls kept disappearing (did you know that cheesecake is perfect for self-medicating after a bad day at work?)… and, by the time the weekend rolled around again, there was only half a cheesecake left. (What can I say? It was a particularly rough week for both of us.)

IMG_5194

The procrastination trend continued and yesterday got away from me, too. So, here it is the afternoon evening of reveal day, and I’ve just finished dipping my little orbs of cheesecake into chocolate. Nothing like waiting until the very last minute! Whew! Someone remind me never to push it this far again.

Luckily, this recipe made a big cheesecake. So, even with half of it gone, we still came away with more pops than any two people need access to. I’m going to have some happy co-workers tomorrow!

I initially had big plans of dipping my finished pops into all manner of things… graham crackers, jimmies, caramel, nuts, etc… but – in the eleventh hour – and after trying to roll cheesecake into balls and ending up with cheesecake all over me… and a good part of my kitchen (there are worse things in life) – I opted to go with something simple… Taza shaved chocolate. There’s just no such thing as too much chocolate!

IMG_5185

This recipe makes a wonderful, thick cheesecake. And, as was the experience of many of the other DB’ers, mine took longer than the recommended 35-45 minutes… about 20 minutes longer, as a matter of fact. No matter, though, this one’s worth every extra minute.

IMG_5199

My husband agrees! I’ll definitely be making this again – both in pop form and in a more classic form (I’m already thinking about how great it would be with a chocolate crust). To see how the other DB’ers felt about cheesecake in the form of lollipops, check out the Daring Baker Blogroll.

Cheesecake Pops
(from Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Connor)
5 8-oz. packages cream cheese at room temperature
2 cups sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
5 large eggs
2 egg yolks
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup heavy cream
Boiling water as needed
Thirty to forty 8-inch lollipop sticks

1 pound chocolate, finely chopped – you can use all one kind or half and half of dark, milk, or white (Alternately, you can use 1 pound of flavored coatings, also known as summer coating, confectionary coating or wafer chocolate – candy supply stores carry colors, as well as the three kinds of chocolate.)
2 tablespoons vegetable shortening
Assorted decorations such as chopped nuts, colored jimmies, crushed peppermints, mini chocolate chips, sanding sugars, dragees) – Optional

Position oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Set some water to boil.

In a large bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, flour, and salt until smooth. If using a mixer, mix on low speed. Add the whole eggs and the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well (but still at low speed) after each addition. Beat in the vanilla and cream.

Grease a 10-inch cake pan (not a springform pan), and pour the batter into the cake pan. Place the pan in a larger roasting pan. Fill the roasting pan with the boiling water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake until the cheesecake is firm and slightly golden on top, 35 to 45 minutes.

Remove the cheesecake from the water bath and cool to room temperature. Cover the cheesecake with plastic wrap and refrigerate until very cold, at least 3 hours or up to overnight.

When the cheesecake is cold and very firm, scoop the cheesecake into 2-ounce balls and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Carefully insert a lollipop stick into each cheesecake ball. Freeze the cheesecake pops, uncovered, until very hard, at least 1 – 2 hours.

When the cheesecake pops are frozen and ready for dipping, prepare the chocolate. In the top of a double boiler, set over simmering water, or in a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water, heat half the chocolate and half the shortening, stirring often, until chocolate is melted and chocolate and shortening are combined. Stir until completely smooth. Do not heat the chocolate too much or your chocolate will lose it’s shine after it has dried. Save the rest of the chocolate and shortening for later dipping, or use another type of chocolate for variety.

Alternately, you can microwave the same amount of chocolate coating pieces on high at 30 second intervals, stirring until smooth.

Quickly dip a frozen cheesecake pop in the melted chocolate, swirling quickly to coat it completely. Shake off any excess into the melted chocolate. If you like, you can now roll the pops quickly in optional decorations. You can also drizzle them with a contrasting color of melted chocolate (dark chocolate drizzled over milk chocolate or white chocolate over dark chocolate, etc.) Place the pop on a clean parchment paper-lined baking sheet to set. Repeat with remaining pops, melting more chocolate and shortening (or confectionary chocolate pieces) as needed.

Refrigerate the pops for up to 24 hours, until ready to serve.
(Makes 30 – 40 Pops)

Tagged

55 thoughts on “Pop! (Cheesecake Pop Madness)

  1. Kristen says:

    I cannot wait to try these! Mmmmmmm! Yours look especially delicious, Michelle!

  2. Aran says:

    Love those shots!!!

  3. veron says:

    great cheesecake pops and I love the first shot with the black background.

  4. Carrie says:

    I love how you did the bite shots. I haven’t seen that on another post yet! Really great job…and the chocolate on chocolate…your killing me!

    Carrie
    http://fieldsofcake.blogspot.com

  5. Bumblebutton says:

    Something about the handful of pops spoke to me! Great photos, and great job!

  6. Deborah says:

    Your photos look great – as do your pops! I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe!

  7. JennyBakes says:

    I think if I knew these pops were the end result, I would hold off on self-medicating with plain old cheesecake! They just look amazingly decadent.

  8. Barbara says:

    Great looking pops. I used chocolate shavings on some of mine too. That was my favorite topping of all that I used.

  9. Chelle says:

    Absolutely beautiful shots!!

  10. That shaved chocolate looks wonderful — I haven’t seen it before but will definitely look for it. Your cheesecake pops look like truffles on a stick — the perfect party food.

  11. JMom says:

    I stretched this challenge into a three day project too because of freezer space issues.

    Your pops look great!

  12. With so many steps I guess there were ample points for procrastination to creep in but I’m glad you made it. The shaved chocolate looks like a marvelous coating!

  13. Melanie says:

    I absolutely love the simplicity of the chocolate on chocolate look – LOVE the shaved chocolate. So lovely! (And delicious, too, I agree!)

  14. Kate says:

    Awww they totally look like little lolly pops!

  15. Barbara says:

    I wasn’t aware of the shaved chocolate before – I’ll have to check it out. They look delicious!

  16. I’m chuckling at your post. I let my pops sit in the fridge for a few days because I was so anxious about taking the “perfect” pictures. I finally had to stop procrastinating this morning and just. do. it.

    Yours came out great! Chocolate on chocolate sure works for me! ;)

  17. Rosa says:

    Your pops look very pretty! Wonderful! You did a great job here…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  18. Lucy V says:

    I love what you did with the chocolate. They look great.

  19. zorra says:

    I will make it again too, but just as a “normal” cheesecake. Love your pops!

  20. Suzana says:

    Oh so lovely, Michelle! Beautiful pops!

  21. Kaykat says:

    Yay! More chocolate-on-chocolate pops! They look delicious :)

  22. kmorganmoss says:

    I saw your photo on tastespotting they look delicous. It was a fun challenge wasn’t it!!

  23. Cheryl says:

    Ooooh, so pretty! I love your pictures!

  24. Katie B. says:

    Truer words have never been spoken – you can NEVER have enough chocolate!!! Great pops!

  25. hah! Love that last picture. And Taza chocolate is on my to-do-chocolate list that seems to keep growing.

  26. maria~ says:

    Teehee, I was a big procrastinator on this challenge too! Somehow, I made it in time ;)

    Your pops are beauties, by the way!

  27. BitterSweet says:

    You certainly can’t go wrong with chocolate on top of chocolate- They look great! Good to know that this recipe can sit for a while without harm (except for the missing spoonfuls) if there isn’t time to work with it immediately.

  28. Renae says:

    Those look GREAT!!!

  29. They look awesome! I kept mine pretty simple too, and just the cheesecake with the chocolate was a decadent enough treat for me.

    Fabulous job!

  30. farida says:

    Michelle, thank you for your lovely comment on my Mr. & Mrs Cheezypops:)) It led me to your blog and your lovely pops! They look adorable and perfectly round. Great job!

    I am going to subscribe to you to read more from you. Cheers!

  31. Chez US says:

    I like the shaved chocolate on them – I agree there is never TOO much chocolate in ones life!

  32. Dayna says:

    Looks delicious.
    Nothing wrong with the 11th hour… more to enjoy when everyone’s pictures get posted.
    Yes, I’m realizing this from experience:)

  33. farida says:

    Michelle, thank you for the lovely comment you left on my blog. I came to check out yours and I love it! Your pops look cute. And the pictures are beautiful!

  34. Kevin says:

    Those cheesecake pops dipped in chocolate shavings/bits look so good! Mine disappeared quickly as well. :)

  35. Erin says:

    I definitely agree that there is no such thing as too much chocolate! Your cheesecake pops look so pretty! Great job :)

  36. Marq says:

    Oooh, these look absolutely decadent!

  37. Nina says:

    The dark chocolate on some more chocolate. I prefer the all grown-up version……yum

  38. Jen says:

    I too cut it close, but not as close as you or Peabody :) I have to say your cheesecake pops looks absolutely beautiful. What a nice job you did!

  39. Gigi says:

    Stunning photos! I am going to have to hunt down some Taza shaved chocolate. :)

  40. enza says:

    oh as expected this was a great challenge!
    glad to see your creation

  41. Amber says:

    Beautiful looking cheesecake pops!! Wonderful job.

  42. Great job! I love the chocolate shavings. I am absolutely in agreement about the self medicating! Ha!

  43. Deb says:

    Fantastic! Lucky co-workers!
    Photos are great!

  44. cookworm says:

    The shot with your husband is great! Nice job on the challenge!

  45. Dolores says:

    Is that the solution to a stressful day at work? I just need a vat of cheesecake in the fridge into which to dunk a spoon? Sounds like the perfect antidote to a meeting-filled morning and harried commute. :)

  46. Tina says:

    I love the idea of the shaved chocolate, gives them a wonderful elegant look to them. I say you got what you needed out of them, a week worth of distressing and wonderful chocolate coating treats ;)

  47. No such thing as too much chocolate – I’ll go for that. Ah, chocolate crust well now that does sound just about right.
    Love your chocolate on chocolate!

  48. texana says:

    I love the pic with hubby–the coating looks so thin and smooth and delicious. Just perfect!

  49. angie says:

    Really like your ├╝ber-chocolatey version :)!

  50. Indigo says:

    Such beautiful photos! And I agree that the more chocolate the better ^__^

  51. Jessica says:

    I think it’s great that you kept eating your cheesecake through out the week :) It was a pretty tasty cheesecake. Great job!

  52. great great job, they look fantastically yummy :) and apparently your husband thinks the same !

  53. Sheltie Girl says:

    You did a wonderful job on your pops!

    Natalie @ Gluten a go Go

  54. Angelique says:

    These look absolutely fabulous. I want to make these for a late night dessert table for my grandmother’s anniversary party. The vow renewals, early dinner, cake cutting, entertainment, etc. start at 2 pm to midnight+. Around 8-8:30 a dessert table will be set out. There will be a chocolate fountain, cupcakes, candies and other goodies.

    I would like to modify this recipe using white chocolate with a key lime cheesecake or raspberry filling covered in “red” white chocolate since there will already be plenty of “regular” chocolate on the table. Any suggestions for recipes would be great.

    Cheers and thanks.

    Angelique

  55. j3551 says:

    Is there any way you could use a pumpkin cheese cake, instead of a plain one?

    ***
    I’m sure you could… pumpkin cheesecake with a chocolate shell sounds pretty good to me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

