black forest torte for my one and only

In my family, there was always a homemade birthday cake waiting for you on your birthday. It’s one of my favorite memories. Of course, another of my favorite memories is having cake for breakfast, but that’s a different story (though it’s a memory I plan to relive tomorrow morning over a piece of cake and a cup of coffee!).

IMG_5696

Today marks the beginning of my husband’s 34th year. When I asked him what kind of cake he wanted for his birthday this year, his immediate answer was “black forest.” Brilliant. I love this man for many reasons, but moments like that just make me love him even more. We went to the liquor store and bought kirsch that very day!

IMG_5695

What a wonderful cake for a special occasion. Festive and beautiful, it was really dressed to impress… and impress it did. The cake was moist – even more so after being brushed with the kirsch – and the whipped cream added the perfect touch of sweetness without being too heavy. Just lovely.

IMG_5704

Rather than go to four layers (though I was tempted), I decorated the fourth layer with the extra cherries and whipped cream and sent it home with my parents. Better to get the temptation out of the house… we’ll do plenty of damage to our waistlines with the pieces that are left in the fridge!

IMG_5705

Happy birthday, love of my life. May this be a wonderful year for you. I love you… all ways and always.

Black Forest Torte
2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 tablespoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 eggs
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 20 ounce cans cherry pie filling
1 tablespoon plus 1/3 cup kirsch, divided
3 cups heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup confectioners sugar
4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, shaved or very finely chopped

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans and cover bottoms with waxed paper (I use Bakers Joy spray without waxed paper with great results).

In a large bowl combine flour, granulated sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Add eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla. Beat until well blended and pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until wooden toothpick comes out clean. Cool cake layers in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes, then invert onto racks to cool completely.

While cake cools, place pie filling in a sieve and allow “sauce” to drain into a bowl. Set aside until cake has cooled completely.

When ready to assemble, pour heavy cream into a large chilled bowl and beat at high speed until soft peaks form. Slowly add confectioners sugar and 1 tablespoon of kirsch and continue beating until stiff peaks form.

Split each cake layer into two with a serrated knife. Pour remaining 1/3 cup kirsch into a small bowl and brush each layer with liquor to moisten.

Place one cake layer on cake plate. Spread with 1 cup whipped cream and top with 1/2-3/4 cup of the drained cherries as well as a drizzle of the sauce that was drained off. Top with a second layer of cake and repeat layers of whipped cream and cherries. Repeat with a third layer if desired. Place top layer on cake and frost the sides and top of the cake with additional whipped cream.

To decorate, press the chocolate shavings onto sides of the cake. Using a pastry bag and a large star tip, pipe whipped cream stars onto the top of cake, leaving an open area in the center. Spoon remaining cherries onto top of cake. Garnish with additional chocolate and/or cherries as desired.

Refrigerate cake until ready to serve and keep any leftovers covered and refrigerated.

P.S. This is also my [slightly belated] August entry for Quirky CupcakesLayers of Cake” event. What a great idea!! :)

Tagged , ,

20 thoughts on “black forest torte for my one and only

  1. Mom says:

    The cake was beautiful and festive and it tasted even better than it looks. Great job, loved every bite of it. Happy Memories.

  2. Y says:

    What an awesome looking cake. It reminds me of the blackforest cakes I always requested for my birthday as a kid, except without such a wonderfully generous amount of cherries used.

  3. Chelle says:

    Absolutely stunning cake! I’ve never made black forest before, but it’s on my list of things to try and I am certainly saving this recipe!

  4. RecipeGirl says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! You sure can tell it was made with lots of love :)

  5. Happy birthday to the hubby!!
    It looks amazing, sweetie, and delicious – a cake full of love!

  6. !!!!! That is beautiful, and looks delicious. I can taste it already…

  7. grace says:

    “festive and beautiful” is an understatement–this is gorgeous! i’m sure it tastes magnificent too.

    happy birthday, indeed!

  8. Beautiful birthday cake for your husband — and I’ll bet it’s absolutely delicious for breakfast, too.

  9. Kate says:

    We always had homemade birthday cakes too. I always feel bad for the hubs since they always had storebought.

  10. Jaime says:

    wow that is such a beautiful cake! i would love to make it but i know mine would not nearly be as pretty!

  11. Haley says:

    Beautiful cake! I’m sure it tasted just as wonderful as it looks!

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our September apple and peach recipe contest (the recipe can be sweet or savory). All competitors will be eligible to win one of three prizes :)! Please email me, haleyglasco@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details: http://blog.keyingredient.com/2008/08/29/september-kick-contest/

    Thanks :),
    Haley
    KI Blogger

  12. Deborah says:

    I just posted yesterday about how I loved birthdays growing up because we would get to choose what kind of cake we wanted! This looks AMAZING. I haven’t had black forest in a long time, but now I want some!

  13. Kumiko says:

    Black Forest is my husbands favourite too, cake in the morning takes a lot to beat!

  14. Kitchen Goddess says:

    Absolutely beautiful :) I haven’t eaten Black Forest for years, now you’ve made me want to bake one.

  15. nina says:

    I am not a great lover of cakes(more of a savory girl), but this is my ultimate indulgence, simply because it is not SOOOOO sweet. Delicious and yes, you can have it for breakfast on hubby’s birthday!

  16. Wow! Beautiful cake. Nice Job!

  17. Psychgrad says:

    Can you come and make one of these at my place? My SO’s birthday is on Monday and I have no idea what to make for it.

  18. katie says:

    That is the best looking Black Forest cake I have ever seen!

  19. Tami says:

    Happy belated birthday to your hubby! BTW, this is my favorite cake – and it looks just awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

