it makes cents!

I admit it… I’m cheap. I try to limit my lunches out… I bring my own coffee to work more often than not… we stick to a budget (okay… MOST of the time). My weakness? Fun foodie-type stuff. I have a hard time keeping my wits about me when I’m wandering down aisles of fun foods. I’ve fallen victim to many an overpriced container of mascarpone, imported balsamic vinegar, tub of Greek yogurt… and Boursin Cheese. Ohhhh… my beloved, pricey Boursin cheese.

IMG_5758

Until, that is, I discovered that you can make it at home for a fraction of the cost and with every bit of the wonderful flavor. That’s right… for the price of a brick of cream cheese, a stick of butter, a little cheese, garlic, and some spices from your spice cabinet, you’ve got something every bit as good and without the added preservatives OR the high price. SWEET! Errr… Savory!

Susan at Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy is hosting a Blogiversary Bash to celebrate her blog’s first anniversary. As I love her blog, I absolutely had to be part of the party… so this is my humble contribution to her virtual cocktail party. Congratulations, Susan! Here’s to many more wonderful anniversaries filled with good food and good friends!

IMG_5760

Better than Boursin Cheese Spread
1 clove garlic*
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, room temp
1 stick butter, room temp
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese, grated
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried dill
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram

In a food processor, pulse garlic until finely chopped. Add the remaining ingredients and process until smooth, stopping twice to scrape down sides. Serve with crackers. Refrigerate any leftovers up to one week.

*Note: This makes for a garlicky spread. If lots of garlic isn’t your thing, you might consider scaling that back a bit.

7 thoughts on “it makes cents!

  1. You can also boil the garlic clove for a few minutes to tone down the raw flavor just a bit, if garlic isn’t your thing. I love making “boursin” cheese like this, with herbs from my garden.

  2. Deborah says:

    YUM!! I’m a garlic lover, so I would probably put in 2!

  3. Thank you so much for sending this over! I love Boursin and your version looks amazing! I know it will be a big hit at the buffet!

  4. Nicole says:

    Oh. I have to try this. I love Boursin. But the price is a killer. Bring on the garlic!!!!!!!!

  5. Alison says:

    I’m glad to know that I”m not the only one who falls victim to spending half my monthly salary on impulse food items!!

  6. BakinginOregon - Erik says:

    I’ve never heard of Boursin cheese before, it sounds fantastic, I’m going to give this a try!

  7. Haley says:

    I’ve never tasted boursin cheese, but I love cheese and I love garlic, so I’ll definitely be trying this dip out!!

    We would love to feature this tasty dip on our blog and possibly on our digital recipe reader! If interested email haleyglasco@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

