oh! nuts … oh boy!!

In the midst of our recent ice storm, I received an email from a representative for Oh! Nuts inquiring whether I’d like to receive a sample of their bulk fruits or nuts to be reviewed and featured in a recipe here on Culinography. Free samples of fruits and/or nuts? Yum! Another reason to bake and blog about it? Yay! The potential to endorse a great product? Fun!

IMG_7255

Not being quite sure how all of this works (I’m a newb with this whole “feature a product” thing), I decided to offer up two options for my bulk fruit selection and two for the bulk nuts. I expected they’d pick one… maybe two… to send my way. Instead, these great folks sent all four of my options. Not only that, but from the day I replied to say I’d be happy to give this a go, it took just four business days for the box of goodies to show up on my doorstep. That’s what I call good customer service, folks.

IMG_7257

The first bag I broke into was the raw, shelled macadamia nuts. These macadamias were positively gorgeous… larger, I think, than any macadamia nut I’ve ever worked with, and boasting that classic, creamy, macadamia taste. I remembered a block of white chocolate I’d been hanging on to for a while and I knew immediately where I was taking my first recipe. White chocolate macadamia nut cookies.

IMG_7260

First things first, of course, I cranked up the oven and threw some macadamia nuts into the oven to toast (350 F for about ten minutes). When they came out, they were gorgeous and toasty and boasting a wonderful flavor. Luckily, I had enough foresight to throw in more than I planned on needing…. so I could snack while I rough chopped!

IMG_7263

The rest of the recipe is a breeze to pull together. The formula is based loosely on Alton Brown’s “chewy” cookie as I love the fact that it produces a nice, chewy cookie that stays chewy even a day or two later… provided the cookies last that long! Or, you can pour yourself a big glass of milk and just promise yourself you’ll go to the gym later.

IMG_7271

Thank you, Oh! Nuts for a wonderful product! The website is an absolute treat… with options from candy to dried fruits to – of course – nuts… and I’ve no doubt I’ll visit often. (I’ll also be open to any samples that arrive on my doorstep in the future!) And you, loyal readers, will have to stay tuned to see what I do with the other three samples that I received!

IMG_7276

White Chocolate Chunk Macadamia Nut Cookies
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
2 1/4 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons milk (skim works fine)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped white chocolate or chocolate chips
1 cup coarsely chopped macadamia nuts, toasted

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Melt the butter (I use the microwave). Meanwhile, sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside.

Pour the melted butter into the bowl of a stand mixer. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars together on medium speed. Add the egg, yolk, milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the white chocolate and macadamia nuts.

Chill the dough for approximately 20 minutes, then scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets. I used a small cookie scoop and placed 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 9 minutes or until just turning golden brown around the edges. Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Once cool, store in an airtight container.

Makes approx. 32 cookies.

8 thoughts on “oh! nuts … oh boy!!

  1. pam says:

    Wow! Lucky you! I’m still waiting for someone to contact me to check out their stuff!!!

  2. Aran says:

    this is what i want know with a big glass of milk!

  3. Ada Brescia says:

    OHHH, I so agree with you that Macadamias are the best. When I lived in Brooklyn i made macadamia cookies for Ernie and Louise regularly (even on my sewing factory job)

    But my husband was a milkman and we always had lots of milk with our cookies.

    But then when I got sick, Louise shipped me off to Coconut Creek, Florida and I clearly remember the LAST time I enjoyed a good cookie — that was May 30, 2007 — LOL!

    But your blog has reawakened my memories of good cookies. Thanks.

  4. grace says:

    i think macadamia nuts must be the best nuts in the world. why aren’t they more prevalent? :)

  5. Those macadamias do look beautiful — as do your cookies!

  6. Kevin says:

    Free nuts are always good! Those cookies look great!

  7. Kate says:

    As I was reading I was hoping you were going to make them into cookies. And then I hoped you’d add white chocolate. You made my hopes come true!

  8. Kitchen Goddess says:

    Those nuts do look perfect as do the cookies, especially with that glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

