look what the Easter Bunny brought… cookies AND a giveaway!

Three weeks? Seriously? Three weeks since my last post? What’s going on here? You know it’s a bad sign when your girlfriend calls you and says “When I realize I haven’t talked to you in a while, I check your blog to see what you’ve been up to. So, I checked… and there’s nothing there!” Sadly, just like I had nothing particularly interesting to tell her about my life as of late, I don’t have much to tell you guys either. So… rather than focus on what has or – more accurately – has not been going on here, let’s talk about three more important things… cookies, Oh! Nuts, and Culinography’s very first giveaway!

You might recall that, not so long ago, I received four great sample products from the fine folks at Oh! Nuts…  we had the macadamia nuts that found their way into some awesome white chocolate macadamia nut cookies (and which will have a cameo in another recipe later this month)… the pistachios that stole the show in the crispy potato rounds with herbed goat cheese and pistachios and again later in some pistachio ice cream… and the dried sour cherries that provided the perfect tart to sweet balance in those chewy dark chocolate-cherry cookies.

trio

That brings us to sample number four… dried strawberries. To be honest, most of the bag was lost to simple snacking… these were like fruit snacks – except, well, they’re actually fruit! Yum! However, before the entire bag vanished, I did manage to incorporate a cup of these into some yummy, healthier-than-average cookies.

IMG_7418

I thought these cookies were best while they were still warm from the oven… the combination of melty, white chocolate and the soft, sweet strawberries was amazing. However, even once they cooled to room temp, they were still pretty darn good. And, considering the decreased amount of butter and addition of white-wheat flour and oats… you could almost consider these health food. (Okay, maybe not… but I definitely felt less guilty when I went back for my fourth cookie!)

IMG_7422

I’m pretty bummed that my time with Oh! Nuts has come to an end… it’s been so much fun to find great ways to feature their wonderful products and I’ll absolutely be looking to their site the next time I’m in need of quality nuts, dried fruits, etc. But now… now it’s YOUR turn to discover the goodness that is Oh! Nuts. That’s right… I’ve got a great hook-up for you, dear readers! One lucky Culinography reader will win the chance to choose not one, but THREE products from the Oh! Nuts website… which will ship, free of charge, right to your door. I’m telling you, I love these people.

Want to know how to enter? Just comment on this entry and tell me what three things YOU’D choose from their website and what you’d do with them if you won. That’s it. Easy peasy. Contest will remain open until 6:00 pm CST on Saturday, April 25, 2009. Winner will be chosen at random and announced on Monday, April 27, 2009. Ready? Set? GO!

White Chocolate, Strawberry & Oatmeal Cookies
(adapted from Cooking Light)
1/2 cup white-wheat flour (King Arthur)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup regular oats
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup coarsely chopped dried strawberries
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine flours, oats, baking soda, and salt; stir with a whisk. Place sugar and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer; beat at medium speed until well blended (about 3 minutes). Add vanilla and egg; beat well. Gradually add flour mixture, beating until blended. Add strawberries and chips; beat at low speed just until blended.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray (or lined with parchment or a silpat). Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven; cool on pan 1 minute. Remove cookies from pan; cool completely on wire racks. Yields about two dozen cookies.

32 thoughts on “look what the Easter Bunny brought… cookies AND a giveaway!

  1. ttfn300 says:

    dried strawberries? those look fantastic, especially in cookies :)

    umm, i might go with some medjool dates, raw nuts, and dried strawberries or raspberries. might need to pick out of a hat to choose!!

  2. Melissa says:

    I would buy the dried blueberries to make my favorite self-creation: lemon-blueberry sugar cookies.

    I think I would second the dried strawberries, because they sound intriguing. I might use those in a home-made granola to top yogurt.

    Finally, I would buy the bulk filburts (hazelnuts) to use to make a Linzer cake.

    Yum! My mouth is watering, thanks for the contest!

  3. ikkinlala says:

    May Canadians enter? I’d choose the Dried Red Raspberries for salads and the Pine Nuts and Roasted Salted Macadamia Nuts for cookies.

  4. Steph says:

    Dried strawberries sound like a great additiion!! I need to find some dried strawberries and make cookies with them, it`s such a great idea.

  5. Judith says:

    I’m just sad it’s too late for that passover rainbow cake! Could’ve used it this week.

    I think I would go with dried cherries, which are so fabulous in salads, hazelnuts for delicious chocolate-involved desserts, and pecans for both salads and pies. Those are all things I couldn’t normally afford.

  6. carmencooks says:

    i would definitely go with the dried sour cherries for one .. I love dried cherries and eat them as a snack right out of hand!

    probably also the macadamias as they’re so expensive here that i rarely ever buy them. I would probably use them in cookies.

    and raw walnuts … my fave for jazzing up any brownie or cookie!

  7. nancy says:

    ohh yummy i would pick the roated unsalted macadamia nuts to try making cookies, jumbo raw gergia pecans for pies and banana muffins and black raisens also for pies and oatmeal cookies

  8. grace says:

    glad to have you back, and with some stellar cookies, no less! if i had it to do over, i’d pick the macadamias, the strawberries, and the dried cherries and i’d eat them all like candy. maybe even all at once. :)

  9. christin says:

    Hazelnuts, Pecans and Almonds…These would make yummy additions to cookies we are making for a bake sale and they’d be great for snacking too:) Thanks!

  10. Lisa says:

    Ooh… those strawberry white chip cookies look delicious! I’ve never heard of using dried strawberries in cookies but I bet it’s amazing.
    If it were me, I’d get macadamia nuts, unsalted roasted hazelnuts, and dried cranberries. I’d be going crazy making macadamia white chip cookies for a friend’s birthday, a chocolate-nutella-hazelnut tart, and then oatmeal craisin cookies!

  11. Mellisa W. says:

    Okay, too exciting!
    The Jumbo raw pecans X2
    The Six Nut Assorted Nut Platter.
    Pick me! Pick me!
    mellisa.willis@sbcglobal.net

  12. Stephanie says:

    Ooh! I would definitely need some dried strawberries: I first tasted them in Italy and haven’t found anything that compared back int he States…YET. I’d have to also get their Granola Crunchy Cinnamon… I’m a sucker for good granola. And lastly.. probably the Granola Muesli… another thing I’ve found delicious in Europe and can’t find anything here yet that compares! Thanks for introducing me to this website, it’s great!

  13. Yael says:

    How does one choose?! I decided to go with raw macedamia nuts for some biscotti, aleph bet gummies ( for my class!) and sugar free twizzlers- for me to eat!

  14. cookies, cookies, cookies…they look fantastic!

  15. emiglia says:

    Ooh… those dried strawberries look great, and the cookies sound amazing! I wish I could get that sort of stuff in France…

  16. Dried strawberries? Fantastic! I think they would be delicious in salads, especially with asparagus and spinach.

  17. Kevin says:

    This sounds like an amazing flavour combo for cookies! I am going to have to look for some dried strawberries.

  18. Erin says:

    3 things..

    Dried strawberries
    Granola chocolate
    Chocolate cashews

  19. Carolyn G says:

    I would choose
    1) Colombian Supremo Coffee Beans
    2) Dark Chocolate Truffles (Parve)
    3) Jelly beans

  20. Mellisa says:

    Mmmmm, what a wonderful contest!

    Well, the whole strawberries in dark chocolate would go right in my mouth, the dried red sour cherries would need to go into some type of out of control double chocolate cookie or flourless chocolate cake, toffee pecan cinnamon buns might be nice topping a latte cheesecake…. Wow, what tough choices to make and what a great dilemma the winner will have!

  21. RecipeGirl says:

    Those cookies look yummmy!

    I would choose:
    Dried Strawberries
    Chocolate Malted Milk Balls
    Macadamia Nuts

  22. Alison says:

    I would chose the sun dried tomatoes and make the awesome recipe that I have for a sun-dried tomato & basil terrine, and then I’d choose the dried peaches and dried kiwi simply because I’ve never had either fruit in a dried version and they’d most likely wind up on my homemade granola that I eat every morning with my yogurt.

  23. Maria says:

    So many fun choices. I would probably go with dried strawberries and blueberries to make scones. I would also want to try the granola-the light one. Of course all of the candy and chocolate looks wonderful too! Great giveaway!

  24. Rachel Lauren says:

    Mmmm…dried strawberries! I would probably order the medjool dates, figs…and either the cherries, strawberries or kiwi. possibly kiwi. As far as what I’d do with them…I am gonna go with eat them. Most likely straight out of the bag, perhaps in oatmeal. yea, I’d eat them straight out of the bag. Medjool dates are perfect as is.

  25. Russell says:

    Those cookies look amazing… and entirely mouth-watering.

    If I were to win, here are the items I would choose:

    1) Dried strawberries — Having never tried dried strawberries before, it would awesome to try them. Moreover, they could make their way into those white chocolate, strawberry & oatmeal cookies since my mom always has white chocolate and oatmeal around the house. Also, imagine how good they’d taste included in banana bread. Banana-strawberry bread sounds DELICIOUS.

    2) Raw cashews — I love cashews, and so does my dad. Again, this would be a lot like a gift for him. He is a big fan of cashews and always finds a way to buy a small canister of them when he goes to the store. Why not get some cashews for him?

    3) Raw walnuts — These things are so good. It would be more of a snack item for myself, since coming across and buying walnuts is a rare occurrence for me. Additionally, some would be likely to end up in one of Mom’s desserts.

  26. Michelle Simons says:

    (1)-13-Inch Nut Gift Tray
    13 Inch 6-Section Lucite Gift Tray Filled with an Assortment of Nuts. What i would do is eat them all in one sitting. lol

    (2)-Candy Necklaces
    Children’s Candy Beads Necklace. I would pass them to my friends and make us all feel like kids again. I am way to old now and it would be nice. lol

    (3)-Chocolate Almondine Coffee Beans and grind them up and invite everyone over for some good coffee. yummy!

  27. camila says:

    raw pecans — I can eat these things all day, every day. SO good! I’d eat ‘em straight out of the bag.

    dried mango — i would either put these into granola — seriously, best granola i’ve ever made had golden raisins, dried mangos, and almonds, give it a try — or share them with my mom. we both love them as snacks.

    hard to pick my third one, but I think I’d say dried cranberries… my favorite thing to have on oatmeal EVER.

  28. ann says:

    so much great stuff, its hard to pick! i would pick up some Light Raw Walnuts to crush for brownies or to sprinkle on chocolate cake, Hulled Raw Sunflower Seeds just to snack on & share with my bird, and Chocolate Dipped Glazed Kiwi, i have never seen or heard of dried kiwi before, but this looks like it would make a nice topping for any type of dessert!

    thanks for the awesome giveaway (and thanks to oh! nuts as well)! :)

  29. culinography says:

    Comments are closed! Thanks to everyone who played. Stay tuned for the announcement of the winner!

    ~Michelle

  30. Robiana says:

    I’d do dried strawberries and blueberries and incorporate them into scones. Oh yummy! If I was feeling exotic, pineapple and mangoes!

    I’m a sucker for granola. Give me the old standby- Honey and Raisin. Say, have you done a feature on home made granola? I have a recipe. I need to locate and make!!! :)

    I noticed you could buy a Color-A-Cookie. The entire time I was in my position at big box retailer, I had no idea you could actually color the cookies with the food dye markers! Instantly, I lusted for the SpongeBob cookie. As it happens, it is out of stock. * sigh * I would never eat it. I know what is in those cookies. (The same thing as the brownie??) They come over via the slow boat. But they sure are pretty!!!! :)

  31. Michelle Simons says:

    who won. anyone know

  32. [...] is the recipe for the cookies I entered in yesterday’s iron chef challenge. I found the recipe, which was adapted from Cooking Light, on a cooking blog entitled “Culinography.” The [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

