better than brownie cookies – and better than that ice cream sandwiches

I have a confession. I love trolling for recipes. Cookbooks, magazines, friends/family, and the ultimate treasure trove of recipes… the internet. I must have hundreds of recipes bookmarked from all over the web… tagged because I knew I had to try them and just waiting, waiting, waiting to be brought out to play in my kitchen.

IMG_7986

I ran across this one not too very long ago, courtesy of Patricia over at Technicolor Kitchen. It so happened that I stumbled upon it while I was looking for something fun that I could throw together for a food day we were having at work (we’re always on the lookout for a reason to eat). Cookies with brownie-like qualities? Say no more… I’m in.

IMG_7996

The nature of things being what they are, I didn’t get started on these until about 9:15 p.m. the night before I needed them. Shocking, no? Luckily, they were as easy as they promised to be (and oh my gosh, the batter was divine… not that I would eat raw cookie dough) and I was still in bed at a semi-reasonable hour.

The cookies were gone in a flash the next day… thankfully I saved four back for a quick photo shoot. And then, I had the best idea I’ve had all week. I grabbed a big scoop of vanilla ice cream from the freezer and sandwiched it between two of the cookies. Let me tell you… it was a-mazing. Truly.

IMG_7998

Better Than Brownie Cookies
(adapted slightly from Patricia’s recipe)
2 2/3 cups (466g) dark chocolate, chopped
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
4 eggs
1 1/3 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350ºF; line two large baking sheets with baking paper.

Melt the chopped chocolate with the butter in a small saucepan over low heat – stir constantly until smooth. Mix eggs, vanilla and sugar in a medium bowl. Combine thoroughly. Set aside.

Sift flour and baking powder together in a small bowl.

Add melted chocolate mixture to the egg mixture and slowly add dry ingredients. When combined, add the cup of chocolate chips and stir.

Scoop 1 ½ tablespoons of dough onto prepared sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until they are firm on the outside (dough loses its sheen). Leave to cool completely on sheets.

Makes about 24 big cookies

16 thoughts on “better than brownie cookies – and better than that ice cream sandwiches

  1. Hi, darling!
    I’m so glad to know you liked the cookies – and yours are perfectly round, so pretty! Now I’ll be dreaming about your ice cream sandwiches, yum!

  2. Jill says:

    Wow! those look yummy. And my son was reading over my shoulder and asked if we could make these today. So I’m giving it a go! Thanks for posting this one. and Patricia I am going to have to bookmark your website too!

  3. I’ve been looking for an easy ice cream sandwich to make for a dinner party this week. Voila!

  4. bHealthier says:

    wow- these look awesome and I really want to make them asap! thanks for the recipe.

  5. holler says:

    OK, so I drooled all the way through that post! They look amazing especially when you sandwiched them in ice cream. I am now thinking is there a cream filling I could use? I too end up making cookies at some ridiculous hour, I’m glad it is not just me :)

  6. grace says:

    i saw these and bookmarked them myself, so i’m taking this post as my sign that i need to go ahead and make them. however, can anything really compare to those glorious ice cream sandwiches of my childhood, which always ended up mostly stuck to my fingers? :)

  7. Karine says:

    Oh wowow I want some! They look great!

  8. At first I was suspect when I read the name of the cookies. But now, I don’t doubt one bit that these are Better-Than-Brownie Cookies. OMG! They look amazing!

  9. Indigo says:

    Um, yeah – I’d never eat raw cookie dough either. Er, definitely not. *shifty eyes*

    I love recipe titles with ‘better than’ in the name. These look ridiculously good!

  10. Niki Theo says:

    OMG, these look divine!!!!!

  11. Michelle says:

    I saw these on Patricia’s site and saved the recipe immediately. Now with another glowing review, I definitely can’t wait to make them! They are on my list for next week!

  12. These cookies have my name all over it. Can’t wait to try them as ice cream sandwiches.

  13. farida says:

    These cookies look soo good. I must try baking these with my daughter. She loves chocolate cookies.

  14. kitchenbelle says:

    Thank you for this cookie recipe! I used it and won a round of my office bake off!

    http://kitchenbelle.com/2009/07/24/better-than-brownie-cookie-peanut-butter-sandwiches/

  15. Hilary says:

    I have bookmarked this one. Wow!

  16. Thanks so much for sharing your brownie cookie recipe! yours look so good! I made them recently and blogged about it too, I hope you don’t mind :) although mine turned out looking different but they taste delish!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

